PDA

View Full Version : Too thin?

dab_20
04-17-2006, 04:38 PM
Since Sam got his haircut I was wondering if he's too thin. I have been feeding him the same amount since he was like 4 months old. He eats 3/4 C twice a day. (unless my mom feeds him, she gives him more :rolleyes: ) Should I increase how much a feed him?

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a22/dab_20/2groom2.jpg

k9krazee
04-17-2006, 04:43 PM
Its hard to tell from the picture but I think he looks fine. You shouldn't really be able to see his ribs (which I can't...), but you should be able to easily feel them...

But people tend to tell me a couple of my dogs are too thin :rolleyes: So, maybe I'm the wrong person to answer, lol.

luvofallhorses
04-17-2006, 04:45 PM
Yeah, it is hard to tell, but he looks fine IMO.

Kfamr
04-17-2006, 04:53 PM
He looks fine.

Ki gets 2-3 cups a day (depending on how active/how much we played that day)
Nala gets 2 1/2 cups a day.
Simba get 1 1/2-2 cups

Plus way too many treats for all three.

The average person thinks Kiara & Nala are too thin but our vet thinks they are perfect condition. I just took some pictures and they even look incredibly skinny.... they are just right IMO and our vet's opinion.

Tralee
04-17-2006, 04:55 PM
He looks fine to me
I prefer my dogs to be thin it is IMO much healthier and better on their joints
Lady gets 1 cup a day
Toby 4 cups a day
Lady 42 lbs
Toby 41 lbs

Jessika
04-17-2006, 05:00 PM
Here's a good guide to go by. I found this on another forum I post on, so I do not take credit for the picture or for finding the picture:

http://www.dont-stay.com/off/proplanc.jpg

Kfamr
04-17-2006, 05:03 PM
I guess according to Purina they are underfed. :p

I believe my vets more than them, though.

k9krazee
04-17-2006, 05:04 PM

Yup, I guess my dogs (well at least Jack and Kyra) are underfed too ;)

dab_20
04-17-2006, 05:04 PM
Thanks very much for the replies. I think I will keep feeding him 1 1/2 cups a day.

Jessika
04-17-2006, 05:22 PM