PDA

View Full Version : Feral Cat???

Jadapit
03-20-2006, 11:59 AM
I hope this is the right place to post this. I'm sorry if it isn't. We have a neighbor that has let their cats breed, breed and breed some more. We have wild cats running all over. It makes me so angry! Anyway, one of the cats has been hanging around here. He/she is so, so pretty. Real fluffy fur and the cutest orange nose. I have been taking food out to him/her every day. The poor cat runs away when it see me coming.

Is there anyway I can gain the cats trust? What can I do to make he/she trust me? I would love to be able to gain the cats trust and give he/she a loving home. Any advise you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

catnapper
03-20-2006, 12:08 PM
I have no real experience with ferals, but a lot of people here do. I do know that patience, patience, and more patience is needed. They'll come around and often become very loving members of the family!

mruffruff
03-20-2006, 12:52 PM
This is a time consuming process, but can be done if you are very patient.

Judge how close the cat will let you get before running off. Place a dish of wet food on the ground. Sit that distance from the food. Do not move. That means if you have an itch, don't scratch. Look to the side of the cat, not directly at it. And Wait! When the cat moves closer, don't move! Let the cat eat as much as it wants and just don't move! Let the cat leave when it's ready. Talk to the cat in a very calm, low voice.