PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Excel Question

catnapper
03-17-2006, 09:39 AM
I'm a novice at Excel but am getting better. I want to use it as a timecard -- So far I have it where I enter all the hours for one project during one buisiness day, then additional hours the next and it'll tabulate all the hours.

But what I want to know is this: Is there a way where I can type in that I started something at 9:45 and finished at 10:15, and have it autmaticically compute that I spent .5 an hour, or do I just have to manually type in another cell that I spent .5 an hour?

Right now I have something similar to this:
Start time----Finish time----total time
9:45----------10:15----------.5
(The dashes are just to help keep everything aligned since the forum won't let me simply use spaces)

All that data is hand entered into individual cells, and the 'total time' column has a total line underneath where a formula adds up all the 'total time' numbers. Can I make the 'total time' cell also do the math to come up with how much time is spent between 'start time' and 'finish time' so I don't have to manually add it? I made a big boo-boo last week that cost me some money because I made a typo :o

The math between 3:15 and 7:30 should be easy enough but I've been making small mistakes that cost me fifteen minutes here and there.... and it does add up over time.

Does anybody understand what I'm trying todo? Help?

emily_the_spoiled
03-17-2006, 09:45 AM
You can put a formula in the "total time" cell. It would be something like this:

If the start time for Task 1 on March 17 is in cell D7 and the finish time is in cell E7, then the formula would be "=e7-d7" . This will automatically calculate the amount of time spent on Task 1 on March 17.

Then you can just use "edit, fill down" to copy the formula into the remaining cells.

I hope this answers your question...

catnapper
03-17-2006, 09:58 AM
I tried entering the formula like that and got an error message.